The road is a potentially dangerous place for everyone. It can be especially dangerous for motorcyclists.
In the event of an accident, motorcyclists are exposed. Unlike other drivers, motorcyclists have no external shielding or metal framework holding back the force of an accident. There’s no airbag ready to deploy and save them from harm. There’s no seatbelt to keep them from flying out of place. That’s why motorcyclists are 27 times more likely to die in an accident than other motorists. That’s why motorcyclists are 6 times more likely than other motorists to get injured in an accident.
Motorcycle safety matters, because motorcyclists are in the most danger when accidents occur. We’ll give you some tips to stay safe when you ride.
If you or a loved one has been injured in a motorcycle accident, you may be entitled to compensation. A skilled attorney can guide you through the legal process and help you make sure you get what you deserve. Give The Stoddard Law Firm a call for a free consultation today.
Safety Tips for Motorcyclists
1. Wear Protective Gear
State law in Georgia requires motorcyclists to wear a helmet. In addition, it’s a good idea to cover your arms and legs completely while riding. Heavy denim or leather are recommended to help you stay safe.
2. Maintain Your Motorcycle
Check tire pressure, tread depth, brakes, headlights, signals, and fluid levels before every ride. Check underneath for any signs of leaks. Proper care and maintenance give you the best chance of avoiding an accident that could have easily been prevented.
3. Follow the Rules of the Road
Stay drug and alcohol free. Pay attention to signs and warnings. Follow the speed limit. Use your signals. Rules like these are common sense, but it can be tempting to break them. Follow the rules of the road, or else you’ll be setting yourself up for an accident.
Georgia Motorcycle Licensing Process
For drivers interested in a motorcycle license, learner’s permits are available as early as 16 years old. The actual Class M motorcycle license requires you to be at least 17 years old. The licensing process requires both a road test and a written knowledge test, although drivers who enroll in the Georgia Basic Riders Course can bypass the written exam.
Road tests are conducted at the Georgia Department of Driver Services (DDS) office. All applicants for a license must bring proof of identity, Class MP permit, license application, pass a vision exam, and be prepared to pay the license fee. There are a number of other requirements for drivers who are under 18 or who completed the Basic Riders Course.
What To Do If You’ve Been Injured
If you or a loved one has been injured through someone else’s neglect or negligence, you should first seek medical attention. You should also make sure you contact authorities. The Stoddard Firm has years of experience handling injuries, and we even offer a free initial consultation to discuss your case. Call us or contact us online today.